2014-2015 NHL Preview Guide

 

      

 

WEEKEND Injury Update: Couturier, Arnott, Dubinsky, Jokinen

(5/5/12) The action is split this weekend, with one game on Saturday and two more on Sunday.  Here is the injury breakdown for the next two days of the playoffs.

First on Saturday at 12:30 pm EST/9:30 am PST, the Capitals will try to get even at home and stave off a 3-1 deficit heading back to New York City.  The only current injury note here is regarding Brandon Dubinsky, who is dealing with a LBI and reportedly will not play in Game 4 (NHL.com).  He is yet to make an appearance in the second round after suffering what was at first thought to be a minor injury in Game 7 of Round 1 against Ottawa.  USAToday.com reports that he is with the team in Washington and that he is not​ sporting a cast nor crutches.  

On Sunday, the Kings will go for the sweep against the Blues at home.  Game time is 3:00 pm EST/12:00 pm PST.  The big news here is that Jason Arnott, who missed Game 3, is still out and is not expected to play (NHL.com).  He is dealing with a LBI and is listed as day-to-day.  It's probably more like a coin flip whether or not Arnott suits up.  If you have him on your roster, look for a game-time update.  Brian Elliott will start in net as Jaroslav Halak is out for Round 2.  

For the Kings, Scott Parse is out with a hip injury, and Kyle Clifford is no longer listed on the injury report, so there is a possibility he could slot into the Game 4 line-up for LA.

The final weekend game will be the Flyers versus the Devils and it goes at 7:30 pm EST/ 4:30 pm PST.  Sean Couturier reportedly sustained a cut in the first period of Game 3 and did not return.  He is listed as out, but his status depends on the severity of the injury and we suggest following the pre-game developments to get the final word on this one.  Otherwise, there are no new injuries to report for these two teams.

And lastly, one off-season injury note for keeper league owners.  Olli Jokinen underwent abdominal surgery this week, but is said to be recovering.  THN.com reports that Jokinen played with the injury through the final weeks of the season.  

Jokinen is set to become an unrestricted free-agent on July 1st after a bounce-back year (23 goals and 61 points), which speaks volumes about the motivation driving his comeback season.  Can he repeat the performance with a new team after securing another payday?  His past record suggests that he won't, but he did have a terrific season.